Light-O-Rama Forums

Please help, comm error :(

aussienewbie

Hi all,

I am new to LoR, i recently aquired 2x 16 channel DIY plugs, USB booster etc etc ... everything is working beautifully except i can't get my laptop and controller talking to each other :S ... No matter which commport i change it to it continues with a comm error, i have tried refresh, properties, manual etc and its not working :(

Im a big kid with a new toy and im desperatley excited to get started but have hit a brick wall, any help would be greatly appreciated

Thanks

Kathy

Did you install the drivers for the USB adapter first?

If you open the Device Manager in Windows, do you see the USB adapter there? If not, then you need to double check the drivers and make sure you installed them.

Also be aware, once you get this working. Usually a USB port is a USB port. But in this case each USB port will be a different comm port number. So be mindful of which USB port you are using when you get it working and then return to that same port later. Another little thing about this software/hardware. When working with serial devices, ONLY ONE program can talk on the serial port. So, you cant have the hardware utility and the sequencer running at the same time. Same holds true for the show builder. Just one program at a time. This will also give you a comm error if you do not follow the above rule.

Thank you all so very much :)

problem was with my laptop ... so problem now fixed, and max-paul i discovered this problem when i tried to do my first test :S but do i have to use hardware utility everytime i turn my LoR controllers on ? or is there another way i can do it to save myself 10 min of initiallizing ?

regards kath