Light-O-Rama Forums

RUNNING LOR IN DMX MODE

maxall777

Hi I am new to the DMX world. I was wondering if I run my LOR controllers in DMX will I be sacrificing any of the functions like shimmer,twinkle ect..

No, if I understand your question. I have 6 LOR controllers and 5 DMX universes. Four of the DMX are E1.31 and the other is EntTec Pro. Doesn't affect the LOR side at all. One problem when testing the DMX I found, the sequencer won't run the lights unless you connect the LOR dongle. Every time I hit play, it turns off the "control lights" option. I check mark it back on, click play, no lights. Look at the "control lights" option, it is off again. Plugged in the LOR network dongle and no problem. Doesn't have to be attached to a controller, just connected to the USB port. I am running 3.5 advanced. It almost looks like LOR wants to make sure you have at least one LOR dongle and aren't running straight DMX.

Edited by texascop

• 2 weeks later...

I am having the same problem with DMX and trying to test RGB lights. Has anyone verified this is true that an LOR dongle must be in place to test or run RGB lights?

Ok, a lot of information here, not all 100% correct. Let me see if I can clear some things up.

First off, yes, you need an LOR adapter plugged in and running in order to control anything just DMX. The easiest thing to do is plug in an LOR adapter, add one channel with nothing on it and you are fine. Annoying, but LOR is VERY proprietary and doesn't want you using your LOR software for none LOR products. Dumb in my opinion, but it is what it is.

Next, you absolute will get the LOR effects on a DMX network, no matter if you use a native DMX dongle or the iDMX. Here is why....