Light-O-Rama Forums

How long cat5 run?

James Shelby

I need to run 400' to my first controller on a network, can that be done? I'm running a powered usb hub with three networks and a powered RS485 adapter. On my "C" network I'm running 250' to the first controller with 27 controllers over 650' total run. I would like to take one run to 13 of those controllers but to the first controller it's 400'.

First question back to you, Are you using a PC or minidirector? It looks as if you are using a pc from your wording. If I remember correctly you need to be within 100 ft from the pc to the first controller. But that is also with a non powered RS485 adaptor. I would have to look it up for the powered one.

Edited by jldavis1969

It's a PC. I have been running this way with few problems for 4 years. Last year I added 47m ohm resistors to those 208 channels and it looked amazing for the first time. So I was thinking, now that I have the wire, to split those controllers off to a network by themselves. They are in the middle of a run with 27 controllers so now I would have two networks with 13 in the one and 14 in the other.

Cat 5 is limited to 100'. Anything over that you'll need to boost the signal. Honestly, 400ft, I would buy the easy linker and not worry about it.

The 100 foot limit is only if you are using the SC485 adapter.

I have one run for the last 4 years that the first run from the PC is over 200 feet, with zero issues. And since it has over 20 controllers on it, I would probably notice if it was an issue. This last year, I also had one closer to 300 feet. Realistically you run into the total diaisy chain limit as your first controller run limit...