Light-O-Rama Forums

E1.31

Discotech24

I am just getting into the DMX side of this stuff and am quickly getting too deep into my equipment requirements. Need some clarification. When LOR incorporates E1.31 how will we connect it to our existing network. I currently have a 16 channel controller and am adding 2 DMX controllers with a 160 pixel strip on each, i just ordered a string of pixel modules from Ray and I realize I am going to need to add another DMX controller, so I was looking into E1.31. Is it possible to use my original controller as a dimmer pack essentially on the LOR network and send the DMX protocol through the controller to my DMX controllers? I currently have 2 LOR dongles and an Enttec USB Pro.Or am I going to need a DMX bridge to hook up the 3 controllers without purchasing a dongle for each universe. Am I understanding this correctly? If not, a little clarification would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

I don't really think anyone know how we will hook up to the lor except them right now. Bbut I am sure we will have to get some type of add on.

E1.31 normally connects to your network adapter or switch, hopefully it will do the same when it is supported by S3.

That would be sweet....lets hope it does...i have a spare 5 port switch from my home network.

Basically when LOR integrates E1.31 (if they do this year) you will basically need to run two different networks...an LOR network and an E1.31 (DMX) network. Now I have no idea what LOR has in store for an E1.31 based setup but I can explain how things that are currently on the market work.