Light-O-Rama Forums

Have a 1000'ish budget

Lincoln Lights

So,

I am new to this world, and I am quickly realizing that I can not learn enough fast enough. The good thing is that I have been of the XBOX for almost a month now...Anyways, here is where I am at:

I started off with a plan to do a 16 channel V day display with one song using my Christmas lights (incandescent white lights). What I learned.... Holy crap it takes for ever to sequence a song, but the end result is worth it. After my first song, about 12 hours to sequence, I tackled my second song in about 6 with a little bit more sophistication in the sequencing. When I went to turn on the show the first time out side, my only hiccup was that I forgot to plug in one of my hearts...Also, making decorations is not too difficult if you are stubborn and willing to figure it out...

My hope was to carry my show into a 4 - 5 song st patty's day show using incandescent lights / light roping. However, I am convinced that RGB LED is the way to go for me. The flexibility and range of options you have far surpassed tracking down different colors of incandescent lights.

So, here is my question. I have found plenty of sights that offer RGB dumb and smart lighting. So do I spend money on incandescent lights for St patty's so I can get a show off, or should I attack the RGB led game and figure it out. Also, should I just buy the CCR for 259 or should I buy the components online and assemble my own ribbons for a fraction of the cost. I am leaning towards starting off with CCR's and some dumb RGB rope lights for ST pattys day and than use the months leading up to the 4th of JULY to learn more about the DMX RGB universe.