Light-O-Rama Forums

Help networking

drivemewilder

I run 80 channels on 1 network, and this year i'm adding 6 CCR's. From what i've read, i can run 6 CCR's on one network. Just curious which adapter i need to buy so that i can keep my LOR channels and CCR's on seperate networks. A link would be great. I was told that in order to get "white" it would be 900 commands (RGB x 50pixels=150 x 6 ribbons= 900 commands). So will 1 network be enough to handle 6 CCR's? And if someone would remind me how to assign a new network, that would be great also. I don't recall how my first network got it's assigned name (comm5). Thanks!!

I am far from an expert.
2011 was my first year with CCRs.
I used a lot of short fast changes.
I was using 4 CCRs and 13 PC controllers.
Running everything on one network made the CCRs look bad. So bad I removed the power from them until I had a fix.
Itsmebob took a look at one of my sequences and suggested I slow things down, remove the fades and move the CCRs to their own network.
I figured to be safe I would put each CCR on its own network so I ordered 4 USB adapters (http://store.lightorama.com/uscoad.html ) from LOR and bought 4 25 foot cat6 cables. Hooked everything up made the changes in the sequences and one other place I can’t recall right now.
They look GREAT! Exactly the way I programed them!
Give yourself a couple of days to test.

Any of the USB to RS485 adapters LOR sells will work..

http://store.lightorama.com/uscoad.html

http://store.lightorama.com/uscoadwivobo.html

http://store.lightorama.com/usisad.html

As long as you already have the correct USB drivers installed (for your existing USB adapter), you can plug these in, and note what com port each one comes up as. I usually use blue masking tape to label each one both with the com port windows assigned, and later, with the network I assigned to it.