Light-O-Rama Forums

RGB lights

rooster423

Do you want to be able to control each pixel or you just like the way they look?

You can find the Dream Color RGB lights that look similar to CCRs. With some hackery, you can get them to function the same way as CCRs too.

Guest wbottomley

rooster423 wrote:

this is my first year, so i'm still learning everything

Then... you're in for a rude awaking in the DIY world.

You might want to go with LOR equipment unless DIY is really what you want.

I'm using it for 2012 with a huge matrix that will be stunning.

hey guys I have a couple of questions about the RGB led strips:

1 RGB 5m 5050 SDM 30LED s/m led strip <-- on this strip what does the 5050 means? because I've seen others with 3528 I think but I have no idea what's the difference between those two.

2 I've seen post saying that this kind of strips can be powered with a laptop power supply and I have couple of those but all of them have this output info: 19V 4.74A , can I use them with the RGB 5m 5050 SDM 30LED s/m led strip?

3 if u guys can give me some advice about what kind of rgb led strips I should or shouldnt buy? or what do I need to look for? or what do I have to avoid when buying rgb led strip?, I would appreciate it.

thank u guys in advance.

Daniel.

You might want to search for these items in these forums; others have been down the path you are taking and have shared quite a lot about what works and what doesn't.

The 5050 refers to the size of the LED itself (5.0 mm x 5.0 mm). Same as the 3528 (3.5mm x 2.8mm). The 5050 is one of the best LEDs to use.

The original (old) strips have 30 LEDs per meter, current ones have 60 per meter and there's some new ones with 144 per meter, if you want that blindingly bright look.

Most strips are 12vdc. A rare few are 5vdc and some special order ones are 24vdc.

On most strips, you can control the individual colors (red, green, blue) along the entire strip. Those are called Dumb Strips.