Light-O-Rama Forums

Arches

fdeleon1970

Hi this is my first year with all of this. I really enjoy doing it. I am amazed at what of some of you can do and have done! =) I hope to be there one day.

Anyway, my question...is it possible to build smaller arches? Most of these are pretty large. My yard is not that big and I really want to incorporate these into my shows. Do they have to be 8 channels? Can they be less?

Any help or suggestions is welcome.

Fred

most have arches that are 7 to 9 channels, I used a 3/4 inch pvc schedule 40 pipe and drove rebar into the ground to make a nice small arch,

james campbell wrote:

most have arches that are 7 to 9 channels, I used a 3/4 inch pvc schedule 40 pipe and drove rebar into the ground to make a nice small arch,

How many channels are you using per arch?

I have two with four each,I like them but they can be much better. I will make them seven each next year

my (8) mini arches are only 5 channels each....

(2) fit under each of my (4) mega arches that have 9 channels each...

Attached files 292016=16134-Christmas House.jpg

One of the two shows I went to see last night had 3 small arches with only 4 channels each. The second show had 6 channel arches. From my observations, my opinion is that 6 channels is really a minimum to have them look nice - 8 would be better.

In other words, you absolutely CAN do small arches on 4 channels. If later on you want to add more controllers, you can split them into more segments. Most of these shows started and grew year by year.

jimswinder wrote:

my (8) mini arches are only 5 channels each....

(2) fit under each of my (4) mega arches that have 9 channels each...

Nice! How did you make the small arches? How small are they?

k6ccc wrote:

One of the two shows I went to see last night had 3 small arches with only 4 channels each. The second show had 6 channel arches. From my observations, my opinion is that 6 channels is really a minimum to have them look nice - 8 would be better.