Light-O-Rama Forums

DMX issues with iDMx with addresses around ch 481 ish

tpctech

I am using almost a full universe this year with a iDMX. I have several posts on my porch each with 4 colors. I was getting some strange blinking, flashing and irratic control on the last 2 posts. These start at address 481. It looked like a DMX data issue. I use DMX professionally all of the time (I am a field service tech for ETC lighting) I checked out all of my dimmers etc with my Gizmo and all works well until it is controlled by the iDMX. If I monitor the output of the iDMx with the Gizmo I see the same irratic data around address 481 and I have a dimmer that sometimes does not fire at address at address 465. All of these work fine if controlled by the Gizmo and not the iDMX. Just to be sure I checked the DMX line with a O Scope and the waveform looks fine etc. Any Thoughts? Being my show is now running I un-plugged the "bad" circuits and was considering adding an additional universe of DMX with USB adapter just for these channels to get me through the next 4 weeks!

PS firmware was 1.4 and i reflashed just to be sure....no change in operation.

KEN

Insert a DMX distro starting upstream of the problem area. Good distros will rebuild the signal.

Move it more upstream to see if 481/485 is more solid.

I've had good luck in my theatre with http://www.dfd.com/123-data.html

BTW; been very happy with my ETC Element 60-500 console. Pass the word.

Also consider an isolation amp like http://www.dfd.com/121.html

Keep us posted.

Thanks!

I actually see the irractic data comimg right out of the iDMX before it gets to my distribution. After I reboot the iDMX it is stable for a few minutes then the flicker come back.

As far as DMX distribution I come out of the iDMX and hit a 4 port Pathway opto splitter before all of the lines head out to the yard! It is just the right way to do it as you said!

KEN