Light-O-Rama Forums

Channel shimmer when lights are off

bklsu

Try a snubber or for a test if you have a single c7 or c9 bulb try plugging it into th string of lights and see if that works. If the light works you could try hiding it or making a snubber there are many examples around the forum's.

Thanks for the help. I am a newbie. Strange thing is I have have 4 columns with a strand of 200 c6 led lights on each and this is the only one that is giving me this problem. What might be the best way to make a snubber if in fact that is what I need?

Probably the easiest thing to do for a "snubber" is to put a small incandescent light of about 3-7 Watts in the string.

I have seen issues where a snubber won't work unless you put it in front (connected to LOR first) of an LED string that are the cheaper 1/2 wave rectified lights. It often depends on the design of the LED lights.

Lots of ways to make a snubberl. Attached are pics of how I did mine a few years ago. I bought plastic clam shells at Home Depot for about 60 cents and bought 33K Ohm, 1/4 Watt resistors at Radio Shack. All that is needed is to screw the resistor in place in the clam shell and then close it. No soldering needed.

Attached files 283492=15735-lor terminator (inside) by

• 6 months later...

jallenl wrote:

Found a good source for clam shell plugs at Ace Hardware .70 each. Have to order in multiples of 10. Even with shipping they were cheaper than I can purchase locally.

http://www.acehardwaresuperstore.com/1757-blade-plug-caps-conn/69357.html?keyword=3201191

Now I'm gonna have to take a trip to the local ACE Hardware store and see if they sell these in-house.

I think I've seen them in their stores when I've been in there buying other hardware for projects.