Light-O-Rama Forums

Retail (standard plug) or Commercial (screw connector)?

BigUFGator

I've been planning to start buying lights for my display for a few years. I was hesitant because I knew I was going to be moving to a new house and knew I wanted to start from scratch with LED's. Well now the time has come to start buying (to be ready for next year).

My question is that at the various places I've looked to buy LED's online they always have two types: retail with a standard plug and commercial which seems to have thicker gauge wire and a screw connector that lets you screw them end to end (or add spacing wire which seems like it would be useful).

So people here are obviously buying tons of lights for use with the LOR and I'm wondering which type I should buy and why? Does the commercial grade really matter and is it worth the extra money?

I can't wait to get started! Thanks for your feedback!

I am new to all of this but I have seen alot of people buy their lights from CDI and use the standard plug. Here is the link www.christmasdesigners.com.

Bhewson wrote:

I am new to all of this but I have seen alot of people buy their lights from CDI and use the standard plug. Here is the link www.christmasdesigners.com.

That link is wrong for CDI.

The correct link where we buy our LED lights is:

http://www.creativedisplays.com/

They usually have a presale starting in late December. Super great prices then.

JBullard wrote:

Bhewson wrote:
I am new to all of this but I have seen alot of people buy their lights from CDI and use the standard plug. Here is the link http://www.christmasdesigners.com.

I'm totally confused...when I see people talking about CDI, I thought they mean christmasdesigners.com (and that was the site I was looking at to buy my LED lights). So that is NOT the one everyone talks about having great customer service?

BigUFGator wrote:

JBullard wrote:
Bhewson wrote: