Light-O-Rama Forums

DMX Noobie!

sheppardlights

Hello,
I have been setting up a LOR show for 3 years, i have just discovered RGB. I would like to set up RGB ribbons and such with LOR. I know there are CCRs but im not a fan of the cost. I would like to know how you set up, and how the idmx-1000 works. I know nothing about DMX. from what i know it can control 514 channels. I would like to know how to set this up with my LOR set up.
Thanks,
SheppardLights

DMX supports 512 channels in a Universe (network) Check out my How-To on my webpage. There are 2 presentations that will get you going with DMX and DMX with LOR. The detailed presentation will have more about LOR. Check those reference materials and start asking questions.

If you are using S3, you don't need an iDMX. You need a DMX dongle such as an Enttec Pro. There are threads that cover what additional dongles are supported or have been tested.

For RGB Ribbons, if you don't want to use LOR CCRs, you need to look into a DIY controller or way to drive the DIY RGB ribbon. Again there are threads that cover this as well.

I have viewed your presentation, but i still do not fully understand how to set up a LOR DMX display,
how to all of the channels work together?
I have heard of people setting up a second network to cope for lagging, if you know about this, care to explain?

If you run an iDMX, it is another controller in your network just like any LOR controller. In your sequence you set up the controller the exact same way you do any other controller. Just the iDMX controls 512 channels.

I ran 480 channels last year, a mix of LOR/DMX. I had all my channels on the same network with no "lagging" issues, including a mix of DIY/DMX and wireless. No problems.

I also run a lot of ELLs, so I have a lot of controller clusters that reduce the amount of CAT5 between controllers.

Those that had lagging problems are running thousands of channels, and yes, at that point, splitting up networks makes sense.