Light-O-Rama Forums

Soldering tips disintegrating

fedatty

I recently purchased several DIY controllers and started soldering the first one together with a Radio Shack 15 Watt, a Weller 25 Watt, and a Radio Shack adjustable (20-50 Watt) soldering iron. All the tips have been disintegrating after a short period of use. I purchased new tips and the same thing happened. The tips seem to be eaten away by the solder. The solder was supplied with the kits from LOR. Has anyone else had the problem. LOR stated that it was the same solder that they always send with the kits. HELP

I've seen this happen with tips that are not tinned, usually if the iron has been sitting unused, but powered on, for a long time.

That was my thought too, tinning the tips.
Have you soldered before? are you tinning the tips, or do you know what that means?
I do not solder much anymore, but in and after high school I worked as a solderer "electronic tech", I don't think i went through more than 1 tip a year, and that was with doing hundreds of boards a week.

The copper in the tips do dissolve into the solder. I have been soldering for years. This is a common occurrence. I think the old tips that I have not had this problem with is the one I have on one blue handled weller soldering pencil. But all the others that are tinned and not left on for hours, not being used. they all have had this "Eaten away problem. So a few good licks with a file while it is cold and then retinning once the tip is up to temp (I hold the solder to the tip waiting for it to melt).

Iron plated tips will last much longer, but cost more.

But, the most common cause (not necessarily yours) of fast tip erosion is melting the solder on the iron, instead of the parts. You should be heating the parts with the iron, and applying solder to the other side of the part lead. Melting solder on the iron actually dissolves the copper as the solder flows over it.