Light-O-Rama Forums

Getting ready to buy a 32 channel starter package. What would you do different?

EvilM0nkey

Going to buy a 32 channel starter package soon (waiting for a good deal :P). Knowing what you know now what would you do different?
I'm no stranger to Christmas lights (been putting them up since I was barely out of diapers).
I'm going to have 10K plus lights this year.
Here is my sorta static display from last year (Can't see all of the lights in this video). I do plan on using this track in my display this year.

In my closet I have plenty of (cases of) new lights for this year.

Any suggestions tips or tricks would be much appreciated.

Hello EvilMOnkey,

Knowing what I know now and being a newbie myself (in the LightORama world) I'd have to say you should have started last May!! :] I sure wish I did!!! Seriously, plan on dedicating A LOT of time to sequencing and buy a TON of extension cords!!! Build a good visualizer as it will aid tremendously!!

And if you haven't already read as many thread on here as you can... SOOOOO much valuable info along with EXTREMELY helpful people!!! Ask a lot of Questions, and most of all... ENJOY!!

I agree with Surfign4Dough..by the PC version (plastic enclosure)...you don't need the commercial version (metal enclosure).

Also download the demo software NOW and start using it..BIG learning curve and you can NEVER have enough time to sequence...

And don't worry about getting all aspects of your display or a sequence perfect...no one will know but you.

This is a FUN hobby...so try and keep it that way...and try to get as many of your family members involved so they don't feel they have "lost you" to this new obsession you are entering in to...

Jeff Millard wrote:

EvilM0nkey wrote:
Knowing what you know now what would you do different?

"...I would buy the highest level of the software package immediately..."

Jeff