Light-O-Rama Forums

Are you an electrician?

Austen

I'm not an electrician, and have never heard that comment made, regarding the setup and operation of a show.

I have seen many references advising the poster of a question that has no apparent knowledge of electricity to seek competent assistance (electrician) especially when the question regards modification of or to the homes main breaker box.

Out of the LOR enthusiasts I know personally, only one is a licensed electrician. But more than half are IT professionals of one sort or another...

I too have heard the electrician comment more than once...

I'm glad my sister is dating an electrician. Because I really needed the extra plugs he was able to put in for my show!

I'm actually debating whether I want to become an electrician or not..

But, not all of us are electricians. Good to know.

Well, I've been shocked before, does that count? ;)

I build cabinets but I'm not a carpenter,
I fix pipes in my house but I'm not a plumber,
I fix wiring in my house but I'm not a electrician,
I paint my house but I'm not a painter,
I replace roof tiles, patch sidewalks, grow and mow grass, fix holes in drywall, replace brakes, carbs, batteries, water pumps... what am I? :?

Answer: a homeowner.. being able to do those things doesn't make me a pro tho.

Do we do those things ourselves because we're cheap? Nope, it's because we can.. I'm pretty sure if we have something that needs to be to Code, or signed off, we do it (if we can), and have it inspected, or we call in someone that can do it.. I do nearly everything in the house except HVAC.. Freon I dont mess with..

I havent heard "you have to be an electrician to do those shows".. Do you mean someone asks "oh, you simply muuuust be an electrician to be able to do those things, dahling...? :P

I think Scott and TJ's response was the best :P