Light-O-Rama Forums

Help - I fried my iDMX-1000 last night

heystew

I'm new to DMX so i'm sure this was user error, but I let the smoke out of my iDMX-1000 last night while testing some new things for this year. My guess is that it was because of my going from the 3 pin iDMX to a 5 pin device, then back to a 3 pin.
I've opened it up and can't see anything that is visually fried. when plugged directly to my USB485B there is no power led or other sign of life. A hardware search does not locate it.

If any one has any thoughts on what components may have blown I will try to resurrect it. I'll order another 1 or 2 in the mean time but hoping to get this back online asap so I can keep testing.
Thanks!

Did you actually see smoke? Are you sure your USB485B is working? Can you try hook the iDMX to a controller to see if it powers up that way?

If you tried those things and it still isn't working, chances are pretty good you are screwed...haha. Unfortunately because the iDMX is constructed with SMD you aren't going to be able to hope over to Radio Shack and pick up the pieces. Contact LOR and they will replace it for you.

:P

A little more detail... I did not see the smoke, but certainly did smell it.. definitely came from within the iDMX unit.

I had the following items connected together in this order:
1. USB485B interface
2. iDMX-1000
3. 3 pin male to 5 pin female dmx adapter cord
4. T3 controller from response-box.com for controlling RGB nodes
5. 5 pin male to 3 pin female adapter cord
6. American DJ - DJ Spot 250

after making all connections i applied power and never got any response from either dmx device. I am not sure at which point the smoke escaped.. whether it was at power on, or when trying to drive them from LOR.

One note, i have driven each of these devices independently. This was the first time chaining them together. i have since driven each of them independently with an external DMX controller, so the devices are intact.