Light-O-Rama Forums

Remote extension/AC control

JZenor

Been wanting to get into this hobby (is that the right word?) for a while now and just took the leap ordering 2 CTB16PC kits for this year. Sure to add more next year.

I should also mention I'm a newbie with an engineering background - a dangerous combination to be sure. Anyway the potential issue I have is that my Christmas setup will have 4 channels on the other side of the driveway from everything else. I've been trying to figure out the best place to locate the controllers for shortest extension cord runs, etc. Anyway I slice it, getting to those 4 channels is a problem. I don't want to run extension cords across the driveway and have them run over all the time and I don't want 4 extension cord runs of over 100 feet going along the house, through the garage, out the other side, etc.

So here's what I was thinking, some circuit level tinkering: move 4 of the output triacs and optocoupler sets to a remote junction box on the other side of the driveway and run a simple Cat5 cable from the controller to the junction box. The Cat5 will only carry a very low level signal and all of the AC control will happen in the remote junction box. That way it is only 1 wire to take the circuitous route to the other side of the yard and it's cheap Cat5.

Here is my initial construction concept: take 4 of the output signals from either the U4 or U5 flip-flop IC and wire them directly into the back of a Keystone-type RJ-45 jack. The Keystone jacks essentially snap onto the wires from the flip-flops - very easy. Then do not install 4 of the triacs and optocouplers (i.e. Q4-Q7, U8-U11 and R11-R14). Then in another small waterproof enclosure you assemble a small pcb with the triacs and optocouplers, another Keystone type RJ45, one AC input and 4 AC sockets (outputs). You connect the main controller to the "remote" box via Cat5.