Light-O-Rama Forums

new to the lightorama family !

bostonchris81

hello everyone my name is Chris and I live outside of boston,

I have been a huge fan of christmas lights all of my life ! the more the better ! i have been watching videos with people using LOR the last few years and wanted it bad ! I finally pulled the trigger and bought the 16 channel starter kit to play with this season and add more channels next year if all goes well.

My question is where do I start lol?

Holy Crap to the software !!

I have led multi colored mini lights already, can I use those or do I start from scratch with single colored lights?

Where to start with displays ?

so many questions!

any direction would be great !

Thanks, Chris

Welcome Chris !    We have all been there and many here will answer your questions and share what we have.    My first year I had a single 16 channel then added 1,2,2 the next 3 years.   You will gain confidence as you go. 

I'm new to and John storms YouTube videos are the best! Think his you tube name is listentoourlights, but go through all thread and ask questions. People on here are extremely helpful

Lots of good videos on LOR as well. Also go to YouTube and search for LOR, sequence, christmas lights, etc.  You'll be surprised how much is out there.   Yes you can use your existing lights.  I've had multi-color strings for years and I still use them.  I've added single colors the past couple years and now some RGB as well with CCRs.

Have fun!   

Welcome to the addiction. At Christmas Expo I did a freebie track that has a lot of great info for beginners. The presentation is in the How-To section on my website - Decorating 101. With the LOR decision made, there are still a lot of other things to consider.

Also, at one point David Moore at Holiday Coro had some basic starting information too on his website Blog, you may want to check there.

Mr Storms above has a lot of great info on sequencing etc.... The LOR site has info as well.