Light-O-Rama Forums

received LOR for Christmas - how to convert from static?

Jim Saul

Hi, quick intro - I'm Jim from Minnesota. I've been doing static displays for Christmas for about 15 years. in 2001 I moved from New York to Minnesota, and gave about 150 blow molds to friends so they could keep up the display, since then I have been re-building every year with the after Christmas sales. Currently I are up to about 120 illuminated items.

I just received 2 of the CBT16pc’s, the FM transmitter, and the software in for Christmas.

Currently the static display is about 35 amp (almost all blow molds). Most of that is CFL lamps that I know I cannot flash. What I was planning to do was to have all of the static display use 4-5 channels, and keep it on for 5 minutes or so while announcements play, then turn it off and the light show go, then have the static come back on after the song. This way I can use the same two 20 amp circuits that are all ready in place.

Now that the units have arrived, I have looked at them and realize that each unit can only have a maximum or two 8 amp circuits going at one time.

I am wondering if anyone knows of something that would allow me to use one or two channels to control 40 amps from 2 breakers, instead of needing to purchase another 16 channel controller and dedicate 6 channels to the static display?

Also any other advice for a newbie is greatly appreciated. I am going to work on a small mega-tree and an arch or two. beyond that, I have little idea what I am doing, but I am looking forward to figuring it out.

Welcome Jim. I can't help you much with your question, but I know there are a number of DIY experts here who can, and it won't take long for someone to chime in. I just wanted to say welcome and Happy New Year.

Relays will let you past the 8 amp limit.

I have about 18 amps running my lawn decorations that go off and on via one channel on the LOR controller.

Welcome to the wonderful world of Xmas light animation.

Hi Jim,