Light-O-Rama Forums

Light String Trouble Shooting Tips?

JDM_

Hello LOR Peeps...

This is my first year doing a LOR display and after a few days of dealing with some glitches and growing pains our display is finally up and going.

It is awesome!!!

However I do have one issue that needs to be fixed.

I have a 2' section of my ice sickles that has gone out :X
I was wondering if anyone had some troubleshooting tis. I'm pretty green at these kinds of things and any help will be appreciated. They are indoor/outdoor mini lights (ice sickles) that are designed that if one bulb goes out the whole string doesn't go out.

I have already giggled the string and bulbs that are out. I was hoping there was a proven strategy for trouble shooting this kind of issue. :dude:

I take a known working blub out of a working segment. Then start taking bulbs one at a time from the non-working segment and insert into the working one I removed. If the bulb lights up the working segment, then I put it back. If it does not, then I replace that bulb. If the segment is fixed then I'm done, otherwise I move to the next bulb until I've finished the non-working segment.

Slow, tedious and sometimes it's easier to just replace the segment if you have a spare strand of lights.

Howard

basis21b wrote:

Get a Light Keeper Pro.

Without a doubt, the best light repair device that's ever been invented...

George Simmons wrote:

basis21b wrote:
Get a Light Keeper Pro.

Without a doubt, the best light repair device that's ever been invented...

I'll second that - fixed 3 deer in under 30 seconds!