Light-O-Rama Forums

Rain!

rslx

Not sure if this is a Newbie question...

I work in the entertainment industry, and we run lots of gigs, and sometimes things are outdoors and they get wet, ie: feeder, distro panels, L5-30 connections and so on. Our distro's are just a Square D panel on legs so it's not laying on the ground.

The LOR boxes are kinda the same, but there are electronics inside. My two boxes are outside, and if it rains, they will get rained on. I did what I could to make a roof for them, but as long as they are not submerged in water, I should be ok, right?

lor_24_snow_purple.gif

rslx wrote:

Not sure if this is a Newbie question...

I work in the entertainment industry, and we run lots of gigs, and sometimes things are outdoors and they get wet, ie: feeder, distro panels, L5-30 connections and so on. Our distro's are just a Square D panel on legs so it's not laying on the ground.

The LOR boxes are kinda the same, but there are electronics inside. My two boxes are outside, and if it rains, they will get rained on. I did what I could to make a roof for them, but as long as they are not submerged in water, I should be ok, right?

I don't think you are going to have any trouble. Every year we have at least 8 boxes out in the open. We don't take any extra precautions to cover them. The design of the LOR boxes seem good enough to not allow water to leak inside. And if any does get inside, the boards are mounted in such a way that little moisture gets to them. At least I have never seen it in our case.

We get LOTS of raing in Northern California in December. In fact it is raining during the show right now. Our show has never shut down or even tripped any GFCIs in all the years we have done this. Condensation seems to be the thing we observe, so we keep the boxes powered up all the time.