Light-O-Rama Forums

extension cords

mill4011

I am a newbie running a 64 channel LOR this year. I just about have everything set up and am ready to running LOR controllers and extension cords. Is there a cheap but effective/safe way to wire up 64 extension cords? I've been looking into SPT-2 wire and plugs. I am a licensed electrical contractor so I know a little about wiring, but I don't want to over kill it by running a big wire and oversized plugs that break the bank. Any help is appreciated. Thanks

I've mainly used premade 'indoor' cords. They're no different than the SPT-2 homemade ones in quality (even with the 'indoor' rating) and generally cheaper to buy. Most of my controllers are within 15' of the lights they control so I don't need longer runs. I do use some SPT-2/vampire plugs. I also some thinner custom wiring harnesses for some specialized needs that control either 35 incandecent lights/channel, or one string of 70 LED's/channel (e.g. very low-amperage loads).

thanks you for reposting that link jim. I tried to find something without having to post another newbie???, guess I didn't dig deep enough. SPT2 with vampire plugs is the way I'm going. 90% of all my light are LED so I'm not to worried about overloading. gonna be a fun first year.

• 5 weeks later...

does anyone know the name of the other plugs used where the plug itself has both a male and female end on it. the vampire plugs worked great but in some cases I need a plug where I can go off of it to another without having to use a 3 way plug splitter.

I would think that might be a little dangerous having a "live" male end.

If you "cut out" the end of a couple of female alligator plug, you can then run the SPT wire thru it and make your own three way (or four way, or however many ends you needed).

There is a thread showing you how..will see if I can find it.

Edit:

This is what we mean...just notch out the end so the wire can go thru it instead of stopping at the end as it normally would.