Light-O-Rama Forums

LOR 2 and MIDI

gizmomkr

Im very new to LOR, and still learning the software, but wanted to throw this out there.

It appears as if the MIDI wizzard will take "midi notes" and let me transpose those to chanels of onn and off according to the midi - and thats about it.

At the moment my light display (hardware and software) is based around midi rather than LOR / DMX /RS 48x

Ironically, I come from a theatre background with a lot of experience with DMX. I chose to build my rig out of MIDI based controlers because the programing is much more natural.

It seems to me one area the LOR software lacks is the ability to do a "live" type recording. the idea would be something like this - insert your audio track, map your chanels to keys on a keyboard, and hit "go" as the music plays, you press the keys to activate chanels - it is rela time in a sense, that as long as you have the key pressed, thats how long the channel stays on. This would all be recorded in real time, and then adjustments could be made later to shift and adjust timings or mistakes.

This is basically how I run my rig - I have multi track audio software. I start by inserting the music, then connecting a piano keyboard to the pc for "show recording" each key on the piano makes a midi note. These notes are decoded by a midi controler (http://highlyliquid.com/kits/msa-r/) and the relays activate the various chanels of lights. Everything is recorded in real time, and when done, I can easily go back to a track and add / remove / shift "midi notes" to fix mistakes or clean it up. I tend to work on a small group of lights at a time, and then record several layers of midi to get the final effect.