Light-O-Rama Forums

Promote Show

Jim Hans

This is my first year putting together an LOR show. From reading the forums, it appears many of you guys are old hands at this. I'm sure the people around where you live look forward to stopping by your house each year to enjoy your Christmas show. Past visits and word of mouth bring the people to your home. My question is this...

In your first year, how did you promote what you did? Do people just stumble upon your house, see the sign for the radio and stop to watch? I've put some work into my first time project and would like others to enjoy it. Even though I have had a lot of fun doing this and like the results (at least I think so.. I'm not quite done yet) I have this fear that not one single person will stop to watch it. How did you get the word out?

Thanks in advance for your thoughts.

Create a press release stating it's a free show and some particulars including your contact info. Issue that press release to local newspapers, TV stations, and radio stations. Many of them will post it in their community events calendars. The newspapers and TV stations may also contact you for a small story if you're lucky.

Also, contact the local schools and see if you could be mentioned in their school newspaper/newsletter so that parents and children know about it. Include times, location and any particulars.

Good Luck this season and, most of all, have fun and be safe!

I sent an email out to all the local tv stations and invited them to a "Pre Thanksgiving Night Lighting" (Mon thru Wed) so they could video my display and then use the video in their Thanksgiving night newscasts...

Jim,

A word of caution on getting the word out. Sometimes you can get too much traffic. Search the boards and there are lots of stories of those that wish they didn't have the traffic problems, etc.