Light-O-Rama Forums

Copy Channels to new tracks

Jeff F

This is my first try at using tracks with existing completed sequences. I created a new track called mini trees. I copied the mini tree channels to the new track. Is it better to remove the channel sequence settings from the main track or just leave it?

Jeff F wrote:

This is my first try at using tracks with existing completed sequences. I created a new track called mini trees. I copied the mini tree channels to the new track. Is it better to remove the channel sequence settings from the main track or just leave it?

Either way, makes no difference, just your preference.

I personally try to leave every channel in the first track, and never move them around in that first track. I think that will help produce more consistent results with exporting and importing channel layouts. But other than that, I can think of no reason it would matter one way or the other.

I'm not sure if I'm asking this correctly.

I'm taking a completed sequence that I used last year and creating a track called mini trees. I copied the mini trees sequenced information and put that into the new track called mini trees. So now the main track and the mini tree track have the same sequenced information. (lights on or off, ect)

Should I clear the sequenced information for the mini trees from the main track because it is now duplicated in the mini tree track?

Thanks for your help!

You asked it correctly. It's up to you. Whatever change you make to the duplicated channel will be reflected in the other track.

I do as Klb. I leave my main track with all my elements. If I want to work on an eliment by itself, I will sometimes create a new track to do so. However, I always leave the main track intact. I do this to have consistancy between my sequences. It makes it easier to use configurations.