Light-O-Rama Forums

Arches

ChristmasDude

Could someone tell me how these arches work?

It seems they have multiple modes, but the modes don't seem random to me, seems they are being controlled. I'm confused here.

Thank you to anyone who responds.

I'm just a newbie here, myself. But it seems to me as if the arches are simply straightforward 8-section arches. Eight sections of mini lights on each arch. Each section controlled by a single channel. The rest is in the sequencing.

Hope this helps!:P

Cray

Most arches that I have seen using mini lights are wrapped with 100-200 lights per section. The arch itself is of 3/4-inch or 1-inch PVC. Some leave a little unwrapped on the ends so the lights are off the ground.

Thing is, at 8 (or so) channels per arch, and I have only 32 channels (for now), I haven't felt like I could work them into my display for this (my first) year. Oh well . . .:?

Check out the arches here (goto the videos). Then on the same site is a little video tutorial of how he made them:

http://www.holdman.com/christmas

Cray

ChristmasDude wrote:

Thanks for the replay Cray, I appreciate it. So, you're thinking that each section, eight per arch, has like 10-20 mini-lights wrapped around it? ...Just want to make sure I understand.

Not quite.

Typically the way most of us build our arches, each section may be a 100 count sting of mini's wrapped around PVC pipe. So, an 8 section arch may contain 800 lights total, but each section is a 100 count string. An 8 "section" arch would use 8 LOR channels per arch.

I use 7 "sections" of 100 ct LEDs per arch myself, 4 arches, or 28 LOR channels.

Thank you everyone for the information and links.

Concerning the PVC pipe, would the below suffice?
http://www.homedepot.com/Building-Materials-Plumbing-Pipe-Fittings-PVC-Pipe-Fittings/h_d1/N-5yc1vZ1xhcZbbi7/R-100348472/h_d2/ProductDisplay?langId=-1&storeId=10051&catalogId=10053