Light-O-Rama Forums

FM Transmitter Question

captainron19

I just bought a Ramsey FM30B FM Transmitter. As this is my first year of LOR I had a question regarding frequency use.

Is there any specific guidelines to follow to choose a frequency to use in order to assure the clearest transmission? Just wasnt sure if I need to keep a specific amount away from major radio stations in our area.

http://www.radio-locator.com/ use this to find the station. click on the unused frequency's and it will give you the best ones to use. Then go out to your car and use the radio to make sure its unused. I had one that was used by a distant radio station. Good thing I checked.

I found the radio locator site to be next to useless. Many of the channels they claimed were open weren't, and I later found some of the best channels to be claimed to be not open.

Really, the 'best' way is to sit in your car and go through every frequency. Look for ones which

A) have no signal on them (a requirement)

:) have no signal on the frequency on either side of them (very nice to find) or if none like that, have a very distant station on adjacent frequency(s)

and write them down

Once you have a list of all the 'possible' frequencies, look for 2 which can be easily 'converted', for instance, 97.1 and 93.1, or 104.1 and 104.7. This will make changing your sign from your 'primary' station to your 'backup' station easiest.

With your car radio tuned to your possible 'primary' station, drive around the neighborhood up to 1/2 mile in each direction, listening for any signal. If nothing, repeat the drive with the radio set to your backup frequency, otherwise start with a new 'primary' station.