Light-O-Rama Forums

bypassing flasher units

ukoberon

As its my first year with LOR im looking whether I can use some of my previous lights. I have a number of led units which have a built in flasher module. I don't know if its possible to bypass this unit and would welcome any thoughts....

Attached files 179096=10205-flashunitphoto.jpg

Yes, it's possible. To figure out how, we need some more information about the LED flashers you have, such as how many channels, how many wires, how many LEDs, what voltage.

I am going to take an educated guess and say that the resistor on the top of the board, which appears to be a 3.9K ohms. Is a voltage divider or some call a current limiter. I suspect that also That somewhere on that board there is a rectifier and I can see at least one electrolitic cap that is filtering the D.C. voltage.

But I regress. Steven has asked some good questions. Although maybe I mistook one of his questions. So, I'll ask this How many total LED lamps? And to be sure how many wires? And oh, is this a solid single color or each sub string multi color?

Thank

Here's what I can make out. The square part with + and - is a full wave bridge rectifier. The top of the board has a large resistor, electrolytic capacitor ans a zener diode, this is what powers the flasher chip. two resistors connect to two transistors to flash two channels. We need to know what the input voltage to the string is? From the looks of the wires, it looks like it uses a low AC voltage from a transformer (wall-wart).

Since it's powered by a wall wart (transformer or switching power supply), it can only be on-off (0 or 100%). Shimmer, fades, or lower intensities will destroy the wall wart. (I speak from experience ;))

You can remove the flasher chip, the small resistors and the transistors, and install a jumper from E to C where the transistors were. Then both channels will be on whenever power is applied. To separate the channels you will need an additional wall wart.