Light-O-Rama Forums

Strobe light help and information

buratti

Hi, I am planning on doing a Halloween show this year, and what's a Halloween light show without strobe lights right? I have never worked with strobe lights before and have a few questions...

Well first of all how do they actually work and what different kinds of strobes are there? I understand the old school disco strobe lights that you just plug in and they start flashing, but of what I have found to buy on the net, it doesn't seem like thats the case, or is it?

Second, how do I connect them? Do they screw into a regular C7 or C9 Xmas light strand? Do I need a separate socket for each? A separate channel for each (if i want different flash times)?

Third, do i have to use my sequence editor to get them to flash at the rate i want or do they automatically flash when power is supplied to them like the disco strobes?

Can someone give me the run down on how they work and possibly point me in the direction as to where to purchase some.

Thank you

Joe

Joe,

There are several types of strobes. The larger units are AC plugged into power. These are what you referred to as old school. There are DMX strobes controlled via DMX. For LOR you are required to have an iDMX.

Where you are going, is what is available for small screw in. These are done with C9 sockets. You can buy wire pre-populated with the sockets, or make your own using Zip (vampire) C9 sockets.

There are several vendors out there, Action Lighting and Creative Displays sell colored and clear units that flash approx once to twice a second. Both of these sell pre-populated C9 wire or the SPT(X) Zip connectors as well.

Christmas Light Show has a strobe that is a staple used by many here. While not as durable and weather proof as those above, the brilliance and flash rate is better. These flash up to 4-5 times a second. I have a pretty good presentation on my website on how to make more resistent to moisture and how to fix them if needed.