Light-O-Rama Forums

Motor Control

Kevin in Alberta

Hi, first post, just ordered my first control a 16 channel. Im building a Fountain that will blast water and control lights with the lor controller. I have the lights and the water blasting figured out. But i need to be able to control some AC water pumps and i need them to be variable. so i can fade the water stream up and down.

any ideas on how to do this? i found a pfd from light-o-rama that says digital i/o boards can be used but i have no idea on how to do this.

any help is greatly appreiciatated.

thank you

Kevin

Kevin, I'm not an expert on this, but it seems to me you will need to control the speed of your pump to control the rate of flow for the water. Which means your pump motor will need to be a variable speed motor. As for the control of this type of motor through LOR you will have to wait for the pros here to chime in. You have an awesome project going there...very intriguing. I'm interested in some variable motor speed control, so i'll be watching your post. Thumbs up!

Different types of motors require different methods for speed control. AC synchronous motors are the most difficult to do, and the LOR controllers currently on the market aren't suitable.

Take a look at item 4 in the first post in this thread:

http://lightorama.mywowbb.com/forum76/16635.html

I think that is what you will be looking for.

Here is some information on the controller.

http://www.lightorama.com/Documents/MLC-100.pdf

Hello Kevin,