Light-O-Rama Forums

Track Pilot error or Sequencer bug?

sjmiller

After attending the Mini in Sacramento a few weeks back - Fabian's (gordonlights.com) explaination of using tracks got me to try them again.

My current method is to open a new music sequence and just set up Track 1 with a .05 sec timing. I read in my .lcc file, save, then duplicate the track (no timing).

When I'm using any of the wizards - the sequencer spreadsheet and waveform do not scroll - I'm not a musician and it would be easier for me to recognize a visual (waveform) sound coming up then "know" it's coming up. Pilot error - or not available?

I use the beat wizard on incremental sections of the song on track 2 until I like the overall beat.

Next I dup track one to create track 3, and use the VU wizard on incremental parts of the song to get the peaks into the timing scheme.

Here is where I'm having a problem - is it pilot error... I dup track 1 to create track 4. Now I use the tapper wzard to tap out the song for a particular instrument. Now I have to save the taps to see if I like it with the visualizer/waveform. If I don't like what it looks like - and delete the track then redo the tapper wizard. The old timing is still on all tracks in addition to the redo. It appears like the channel 'on' events from a given track is propagated to all tracks - and deleting the original track doesn't remove them.

Right now it looks like I need to delete the track - then go to track 1, select that entire channel and turn all cells off - then I can dup the track to a new one and tap out a sequence.

Am I doing something wrong, or s that just the way it works?

The way you describe, where an "on" event (or whatever) in a channel is put into all copies of that channel, is the way it's supposed to work.

Instead of deleting the new track when you're unsatisfied with the Tapper Wizard's changes, I would suggest just hitting the "undo" button.