Light-O-Rama Forums

Has anyone tried Mobile Black Box V6000 FM Transmitter

toddmoon

Has anyone tried the Mobile Black Box V6000 FM Transmitter

I like being to have the whole FM frequency band to work with. I trying to decide what FM transmitter to use with my LOR show this year. I am still new to this. Last year I ran a patch of cables to boom box. It had a nice hum with it that I grew very tired of hearing when I had quite portions in my show.

Beside the FM transmitter is there anything else that I need to hookup the transmitter?

Hello

I have the VM600.Works great. Get the telescoping attnena with it. Depending on you computer hook for sound will depend on what you need. The black box has a left and right hook. My laptop had on speaker in so I had to go to Radio shack to get an adapter.

JBullard wrote:

Just keep in mind that the V6000 is a MONO transmitter, not stereo.

Please don't take this wrong, but how important is this? When I sequence (please understand that this is my first year using LOR), I'm not sequencing in stereo, and I didn't even think that stereo vs mono came into play.

Do most of you design your displays keeping the left/right sounds in mind or are you saying that the public lose the musical effect hearing only monaural in their vehicles?

On a second note, do most of you have external speakers (for the walkers in the neighborhood) in addition to the FM or do you rely on the FM transmission?

Richard

rjnitto wrote:

or are you saying that the public lose the musical effect hearing only monaural in their vehicles?

The "public" is used to hearing stereo in their vehicles. If they only hear mono when they come to a display they may sense that something is "wrong" and not enjoy the display as much. To look at it another way, a display with stereo sounds more impressive.

On a second note, do most of you have external speakers (for the walkers in the neighborhood) in addition to the FM or do you rely on the FM transmission?