Light-O-Rama Forums

Stupid Electrical Question

Guest guest

**Disclaimer**

I apologize if my question is stupid, but I am no electrical expert and don't want to fry anything.

I picked up a couple packages of the 20 amp ceramic fast acting fuses as mentioned to upgrade the 1602 from 15 amps per side to 20. (I know I need to upgrade the power cords to 12/3 as well) I bought them at my local Radio Shack. Anyway, they are 250V. I asked about this, and he told me that almost all of them are 250V. Does this matter at all? I guess I just thought I would need 125V. I saw this on some 20 amp rated appliance replacement cords I was going to use to replace the LOR Power Cords as well. Does this matter?

Thanks in advance for your replies. I wish I knew more about AC power.... Always been a DC guy.... Positive and Negative baby! ;))

Not sure about the fuses, but the 20 amp appliance cords are for 220V I think they are 12 or 14 awg, but the plug is different from the standard 20 amp 120 volt plug.

Chris

The voltage rating has to do with the maximum voltage that the fuse is suitable for. You can use a 250V fuse in a 125V system, but not vice-versa.

Tom

With respect to fuses and wire, the higher the voltage rating the better. Make sure the voltage is at least what you have in your house.

Be careful with fuses you will see 32V fuses (for cars) do not use them!

Thanks for your responses. Gives me a much better understanding. Rest assured, I had an electrician friend of mine wire in the 8 new 20 amp circuits for this purpose. I just didn't want to ask him this question at the cost of sounding like a complete idiot. At least on here, I can hide behind the shroud of the internet :]

Thanks Again

Question:

I just bought the 1602 w/Show Director and MP3 Player "Show in a Box" and I'm reading the directions and it's talking about a Power Brick and a Jumper.

What is a Power Brick? What is a Jumper? Can't I just plug this into any electrical outlet?