Light-O-Rama Forums

Need More Amps

tyler9613

I am new to lor, but have done a lot of research and have designed 2 seqences with the demo (i can use those once i buy the real software, right?). I would like to know, if I need more than 8 ams per channel, 15 per side, or 30 total, do I have to buy another controller? I am only using 6 channels (alot per channel), so if i can avoid having to buy another controller, that would be great.

tyler

tyler9613 wrote:

I am new to lor, but have done a lot of research and have designed 2 seqences with the demo (i can use those once i buy the real software, right?). I would like to know, if I need more than 8 ams per channel, 15 per side, or 30 total, do I have to buy another controller? I am only using 6 channels (alot per channel), so if i can avoid having to buy another controller, that would be great.

tyler

If it is going to be over 30amps then the answer is yes, you will have to get another controller. I am sure someone will chim in here and say to use relay switches, but they will have to explain that. I know nothing about them.

If your not over 30amps you may be able to use all 16 channels and lets say you have 12amps on channel 1. You could leave 6amps on channel one and move the other 6amps to channel 7 for example and make the the programming the same on channel 1 and 7. This could help spread the load.

EDIT. Yes your sequences done with the demo version will work in the full version.

Paul Roberson wrote:

If it is going to be over 30amps then the answer is yes, you will have to get another controller. I am sure someone will chim in here and say to use relay switches, but they will have to explain that. I know nothing about them.

If your not over 30amps you may be able to use all 16 channels and lets say you have 12amps on channel 1. You could leave 6amps on channel one and move the other 6amps to channel 7 for example and make the the programming the same on channel 1 and 7. This could help spread the load.