Light-O-Rama Forums

Anyone ship via US Postal Priority?

stanward

This is my first year for doing a computerized Christmas light show. I live in Hawaii, where the UPS/FedEx rates are out of this world.

So far, I have dealt with Action Lighting, Creative Displays Inc. and Light O Rama and TAW global (for my FM transmitter).

Action Lighting and Creative Displays did not want to ship via US Postal Service for me, so I had to opt for the very expensive UPS Ground. On the other hand, Light O Rama and TAW global shipped via US Postal Priority for me (thank you Dan from LOR).

Most of you guys probably don't care, as 99.9% of you are on the mainland US. But it makes a great big of a deal to us people in the 50th state.

Why can't mainland vendors ship via US Postal Service? The US Postal worker will even come to your door to pickup the item you are shipping out (all for free). You can receive up to a 10% discount if you do click n ship over the internet as well.

Stan

I just wanted to let you know that I understand your concern as to why so many vendors won't ship by usps to Hawaii however I own my own business and we don't offer usps as one of our main shipping options either for a couple of different reasons. The first reason is because they usually do not give you a tracking number for your shipment and number two is they lose the package and you have to go through the usps to find out if they are lost you will have to wait forever to get reimbursed for the product that they lose. We now will ship that way if the customer prefers however we explain that we don't guarantee that it will not get lost and if it does the customer has to duke it out with the us postal service to get refunded we don't.

http://www.lightsforchrist.net

Our company has shipped to the islands too. For us, USPS is a huge hassle for the above mentioned reasons. I would much rather ship FedEx or UPS. However, they are not cost effective compared to the USPS.