Light-O-Rama Forums

When to buy???

csimmon5

I am new to this. Saw a Gemmy light show w/ sound this year, ending up buying one, and now I am hooked. I want to upgrade to a light o rama controller for next season ( looking at the CTB16PC ). My question is, when is the best/cheapest time to buy one??

csimmon5 wrote:

I am new to this. Saw a Gemmy light show w/ sound this year, ending up buying one, and now I am hooked. I want to upgrade to a light o rama controller for next season ( looking at the CTB16PC ). My question is, when is the best/cheapest time to buy one??

During the sale typically early summer - get on the mailing list they send out an announcement.

Harrison

Also watch this forum and the web site.. Sometimes you get early notice, or other incentives here, beyond the mailing list... But I would not expect any good opportunities past the official summer sale.

csimmon5 wrote:

How good is the sale? Is it substantially cheaper? I notice right now, the price is $205.

I want to say it was in the 185ish range during the sale - it isnt that bad of deal off sale but might as well where you can. The controlers are the cheap parts.

Harrison

You might want to get the software now though, there are big changes coming and you'll get the top of the line software if you have it before the summer.

The kit that is $205 now is perfect if you can do some simple assembly and don't want to mess with soldering.

hbomb is right though, the controllers are the cheap part! After the controllers and software (might want to get a USB adapter as well), you've got the FM transmitter, lights obviously, and lots of extension cords. Do not underestimate cords.

Also keep track of power, you can only have 8 amps max per channel, 15 per side. Generally you don't want to max it out either. I actually had to split up my house onto 2 channels per color because of power.