Light-O-Rama Forums

HELP!! Hardware utility cant find my pixies

xtremeone

Frustrated!! I have been using LOLR since 2014. I I had the show tested and ready to launch. Everything working. I went out yesterday to do a final test and lost all pixies on Auxiliary A. I assumed it was the first of 2 pixies that were not working. I tried everything...new ethernet cord. Comp restart ..you name it. So I disconnected the first board and connected my Alphapix to bypass the pixie and just use the network. I spent all afternoon disconnecting and reconnecting the props to the Alphapix...and updating the preview. I went out today to just connect to the Pixie 8 the only other pixie I had in the show. Now the second pixie controller can not be found in the hardware utility!! I tried connecting it directly and it will not find it! I tried again different  ethernet cords...different coms..  EVERYTHING! What is odd is that it finds my NON rgb controllers down line from the pixie as well as the before the pixie 8. I need help before I disconnect the pixie 8 and throw on another Alphapix. I don't see 2 board failures the reason...but maybe?? OPEN TO ANY HELP!

The Apix is a stand a lone controller, you are not trying to connect that with your pixies are you? If you connected the aplphapix to your ethernet port and your controllers into the alphapix you may have fried the comm chips.

Are the unit IDs correct? If you have repetitive unit IDs you will only find the fist unit ID

Since you have multiple networs have you switched adapters just to ensure the adapter is not the problem.

If you press the test button on the pixies do the pixels attached work?

Thats just a start

J.R.