Light-O-Rama Forums

Nothing working

AllAmericanJock

I bought this unit on eBay and it was working fine and then it stopped. The board LED light doesn't light up at all and nothing works. The board is CTB32LD-V2. The mp3 player was upgraded by the seller to the N4-G4-MP3 Director. What am I doing wrong or is something wrong with the controller? I can take more pics or give any additional information needed. Thank you. 

1670801319744_copy_1228x1637_copy_491x655.jpg

20221211_152257_copy_1200x1600.jpg

I've never used a director before but start with the obvious. Verified power to it? Checked the fuses with an ohm meter and the unit unplugged?

Yes, pull the fuses out and put a volt ohm meter across the two ends of the fuse with the VOM in ohms mode.  Should be very close to zero.

The are removed by  pressing in SLIGHTLY, turning the cap CCW. that releases. you can check while the fuse is in the cap.

SOMETHING is Missing from that picture. Is the a cable between the director and the board. That sure will not fly if it is missing

5 minutes ago, dgrant said:

There are two fuses on the motherboard too.

I think they are bypassed by where the wires from the SIDE terminal of the fuse holder goes to. HOT is always on the end of those holders, that keeps the sleeve that is exposed safe.

Only 1 fuse controls Logic Power.

I also have never even seen a Director or the metal case controllers, but what are those four wires the drop off the bottom of the board photo?  I'm guessing that is related to the Director power and/or the panel power switch and fuses.

Another oddity - and this may just be the photo.  Just below the right end of the board is a screw with a bunch of wires connected.  I am assuming those are the ground wires from the power cables in the right side cable clamp, but they look black, not green in the photo.  Is that just the photo - and they really are the green ground wires?

9 minutes ago, TheDucks said: