Light-O-Rama Forums

Pixie 16 port questions

JIMITHANG

I am new to pixels and have a pixie 8 and pixie 16 which I have added this year.  I am struggling with the "unit ID" when I add a prop to the design.  Here is why:

Lets say I set my Pixie 16 in the HU to Unit ID "10" (I have nothing above 10)  When I go to add a prop like an arch with 100 pixels in the preview there is another place for "Unit ID" what do I use there?  How does the software know which port on the controller that maps to?  For example, if I use the "add a device" and I add a pixie 16 then one by one change the straight lines that are created in the preview to an arch or tree, whatever, how does it know it maps to what port on that pixie 16?  

I have also tried to just "add a prop" selected RGB and then I am faced with the same dilemma again, what unit ID do I use and how to I know what port on the pixie 16 that maps to?  

Sorry, total Newb and super frustrated.  Appreciate your time in advance. 

On the Pixie controllers, each port (or output if you prefer) is a separate Unit ID.  They count in Hex in sequence starting at the Unit ID that you assigned.  Since you assigned Unit ID 10, the 16 ports of the Pixie 16 become:  10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 1A, 1B, 1C, 1D, 1E, and 1F.

• Like 1

By the way, you listed your location as northern CA.  That could mean northern Canada or I assume northern California.  A suggestion that a closer location is helpful.  Being able to see that some other forum user is in the next town does a couple things.  It tells you that there is a nearby show you likely want to go visit, and it also means that there is someone close by that either can help you with a problem, or after you have some experience, you can help.  You will notice that most of the experienced forum user are giving fairly accurate locations and many include their show website with generally gives the exact address.

• Like 1

• 8 months later...