Light-O-Rama Forums

Struggling with WOW Lights Ribbon Tree and Sequences

Zano

I am new to the RGB world.  I currently run a single CTB16PC controller and just purchased the WOW Lights Ribbon Tree package.  This included E1.31 RGB Controller (PixCon16), 12 ribbons, and 2 premade sequences.  I run my controllers on the LOR network instead of the E1.31.  I have S5 v5.6.8 and have my existing preview created that includes a ribbon tree (12 outputs), and I use the other 4 outputs for arches.  I successfully made my own sequences and have the computer talking to the controller and the lights/Unit IDs working properly.  I have 2 questions…

1.       With the purchased sequences from WOW Lights, how do I import that into my own preview.  First of all, the download comes as a .lms file for S4 software.  I’m struggling to convert it to S5 properly, and when it does, it is in the DMX configuration, not the LOR network convention.  Again, I am new to this and I know very little about networking.  Is there a way to get the WOW Lights purchased .lms file for a ribbon tree to convert to the .loredit file for S5, and make it work with my existing setup (preview) using the LOR networking conventions?

2.       I am confused about setting the amount of pixels in the network config utility and on the previews.  The ribbons that I received have 150 lights on them (paper work says 30 LEDs / meter and it is 5 meters long).  But all of the setup paperwork that came with the package, said that you use 50 LEDS/unit or ribbon.  Why only 50 here and not 150?

Thanks for your help!

#2 is the easy one.  If you look at the ribbon, you will see cutting points (not that you will be cutting them) about every 4 inches.  Between cutting points, there are three RGB LEDs, and one WS2811 integrated circuit chip.  Each chip is driving those three RGB LEDs in series.  It's the chips that matter, not the LEDs.