Light-O-Rama Forums

Icicle lights

Chrisoco

So this is my first year with lor, I put up icicle lights and when I plug them in they don’t come on right away there is a slight delay. If I knew this I wouldn’t of bought them. Obviously this delay will greatly affect my shows, I was thinking about turning those channels on but only at 25% or having them come on just before. Has anyone run into this if so is there a easy fix other than replacing the lights. 

Edited by Chrisoco

Try them and find out what works.  Do these lights have a built in controller that can do some lighting smarts?  If yes, DO NOT USE THEM!

Like k6ccc said: lights with controllers (does any special effect)  should not be used with LOR AC controllers.

If you have a Gem3 (green status LED), you can use HU to set the dimming curve to On/Off.  If you don't, then there is a 99% chance you will do something that will fry the controller (and possibly the rest). Been there: Oops! Oh sh*t, $40 down the tubes.

Even if there are no 'effects', but the module is more than just a simple (fused) plug, those low voltage supplies do NOT like (power) being jerked around. Smoke can escape

No external controller. Im hoping to get everything connected by Saturday. I just have to get the roof lights installed on Saturday. Then I can fire everything up and see what the best way to time those lights 

3 minutes ago, TheDucks said:

Like k6ccc said: lights with controllers (does any special effect)  should not be used with LOR AC controllers.

If you have a Gem3 (green status LED), you can use HU to set the dimming curve to On/Off.  If you don't, then there is a 99% chance you will do something that will fry the controller (and possibly the rest). Been there: Oops! Oh sh*t, $40 down the tubes.

Even if there are no 'effects', but the module is more than just a simple (fused) plug, those low voltage supplies do NOT like (power) being jerked around. Smoke can escape