Light-O-Rama Forums

Residential Mega Tree - Newbie

sastocky

I’m a newbie to this but didn’t want to purchase before asking here. I have read for hours but am cautiously optimistic that I am good. 

I have a 30’ flagpole that I wat the install the following to make a mega tree:

-16 x 100 Square Pixels with a Pixie16 Controller

-SPK-ST Generic Starter Package with pro license

I am also using an FM transmitter and the necessary pixel mounting strips.

The pixels would be at 3 or 4 inch spacing over ~32 feet.

I am open to suggestions. While budget always matters I want to spend wisely and would spend more to do this correctly  

Edited by sastocky
Additional information

Also, this is mounted on a flagpole in front of my house that is 16feet from the street. Should I be installing the pixels on 70% of the circumference so it covers the viewing angle.  Suggestions?

16x100 (~3A/50) will exceed the current limit  per bank (32A) unless severely dimmed or you power inject

Another possibility is to use strands of 50 with the feeds in the middle (mount controller 12-16' up on the pole) and 2 Pixie16. Each leg would be 1 up (configure port Reverse so node 1 is at the bottom), 1 down. No PI needed (3A/string*8 = 24A, well within the port/bank limits)

Honestly, a 30 foot tree that is 16 feet from from the street will not look that good. Yes there will be a lot of lights but graphics that close on something that big will be hard to distinguish.

Personally I would go with 50 strand pixels and only go halfway up the flagpole but that is just my personal opinion.

• Like 1

I Would agree with Mr. P on the size.  That is too large for that close to the viewers.

The other concern is strength.  Assuming a residential flagpole, I would be concerned about that much weight and windload on it.  I know I would not want to put that much windload on my 25 foot residential flagpole.

5 hours ago, TheDucks said: