Light-O-Rama Forums

Just a comment or two

Guest guest

We all want lots and lots of power. It seems that the bigger the triac and its accompanying heat sink the better. But I can't stop thinking about the fact that one single channel could be a mini tree and thats all. In fact, thats all you would want on that channel. We're talking millamps here, sort of. Why then, am I concerned about big 8 amps per channel? For example:

I want to purchase some spheres this year and hang in my trees outside. I'm thinking of 16 spheres = 16 channels. Thats it. No way would I put anything else on any of those channels. I want full independent control of every string of lights. After all, isn't that how we get such beautiful effects?

Let me emphasize something. I'm total newby at this stuff. My previous Christmas light experience is throwing a strand of lights outside and where ever it lands is good enough. I have a lot of questions and I know you have a lot of answers. I'm here to learn.

jeff wrote:

Why then, am I concerned about big 8 amps per channel? For example:

Most people would use 8amps as the max, and probably not go over 4 or 5 on that channel. It does give you flexibility, though. I had some controllers last year that had 1 or 2 channels with 3-4amps each ... and the rest of the channels had a very low amount of power draw. I didn't go over my maximum, and I was able to power those massive C9 bulbs.

Ditto what Don said. Use your small draw objects mixed in with your larger objects to distribute your power load. I have 6 - 4 amp trees that I would like to put on one controller but I needed to distribute them among my controllers to balance both my controller and line loads.

Glenn

Jeff,