Light-O-Rama Forums

Adding rgb

2dwc

Hello!  Complete newbie here…just received my LOR stuff and haven’t even unboxed it yet.  I bought the TSO package with 3 controllers.  I want to install permanent lights on the eaves of my house (it’s 3 stories and I need to rent a lift so want to put them up once and leave them) and wanted dumb rgb so I could set the color depending on the season.  Looking at pricing, it’s probably better to just get smart rgb and have future flexibility.  There would be 4 strips so 4 channels, but may go with 8 just for fun. 

My question is…can I easily integrate this into the tso package?  I’m not familiar with the software yet (pro and bought the editable sequences) but I assume there is a way to reassign channels to an rgb controller?  Not asking for detailed instructions (yet) but is it doable or should I just put up a couple different colored strings of lights and call it good?  Any advice or tips?  I’m retired (so time isn’t an issue) and fairly tech savvy.

Question 2…will it run off the minidirector or does it need to be run from a pc (the tso package has the option for a pixel free so I’m assuming the md can handle it…)?

Edited by 2dwc

14 minutes ago, 2dwc said:

My question is…can I easily integrate this into the tso package?

Yes you can.  Since you bought the editable sequences, you can do almost anything with them.

14 minutes ago, 2dwc said:

Question 2…will it run off the minidirector

The Mini-director is pretty limited, so if you do much with pixels, you will need something better.  Personally I have always run my show off a PC and consider any of the directors to be massively limiting.

16 minutes ago, 2dwc said:

Looking at pricing, it’s probably better to just get smart rgb and have future flexibility.

Each has advantages and disadvantages.  I use both smart and dumb RGB.

17 minutes ago, 2dwc said:

There would be 4 strips so 4 channels, but may go with 8 just for fun.