Light-O-Rama Forums

ShowTime Central

Mr. Christmas

Guys, I am new to LOR and want to order equipment and am not sure if I have everything I need in my Cart.  I have ShowTime Central Starter Pack plu 3 add on controllers. And TSO Plug n SHow. Is this all I need? I want plug n play for this year.

LOR is not a true plug-n-play, you will still need to do some work but it's as close as you can get. Your Basic Plus license will cover what you ordered with four unit ID's and you have ordered some sequences that you will have to configure for your setup. You will also need some more cat5 cables for your three separate controllers and and a bunch of lights. Your fm transmitter will send the signal out but you may want to think of something for a speaker setup for walkers or people standing outside to view the display. Other then that you are pretty much ready to go.

As an add-on to that statement, no system is true "plug and play" since that "plug" part refers to installing the lights and connecting them to the right place, which is always going to take time, no matter what synchronization system you purchase. The reference to "plug and play" with Light-O-Rama is that, once your lights are physically installed, you can purchase sequences so at least that aspect is done, which takes a considerable amount of time if you're making the sequences from scratch on your own.

And 64 channels worth of extension cords (just for the Lights). For standard LED or Mini-light strings: Consider building your own with Lamp Cord (SPT-1 or 2) and Vampire Plugs/sockets (be sure to use the ones for you cord of choice). 💡 I bought a kit of assorted COLOR zip ties and put a matching color (or combination) at each end. sure makes tracing stubborn 'Why is string X not ON? 💡 I also write the Length of each on the plug.