Light-O-Rama Forums

Preview's

pjpilker

Sorry I am so full of questions.  Good thing I started learning now.  Never would have made it for Christmas otherwise.    OK here we go.   I plan on buying the CMB dumb controller so I can light up my windows and maybe a few other things.  Don't want to get into the pixel thing yet. I am going to run a mini director.  Anyway  when I build my preview I have tried adding the 3 regular controllers and the dumb controller and the channels show up as little stars across the top of the preview.  When I try to change these to my props or try to draw one I just get channel conflicts.  I've tried everything I can think of and can't fix it.   Next I tried just drawing without adding the controllers and that seems to work.  No conflicts. I guess my question will be how will the software no if it's a dumb controller or a regular ac controller if I don't tell it?  Not sure what I'm doing.

Thanks 

PJ

Double click on the Star - and "Modify" the Prop - turn the Star into a "Shape" .. The Star represents a Channel - thus turning that Star into a Display Prop in your Preview and that Prop being assigned to that Channel... Hope that did not confuse you to much..

Edited by Jimehc

Just to expand. When you double click on the star, in Preview, the Prop Definition window will open. In the center you can change the shape from the dropdown list with many choices to play with. This includes things like Window Frames, which you might choose for some of your RGB channels. 

If you also have another Controller in your Preview - then you need to Change the Unit ID of one of the controllers to 02, or something other then the default Unit ID 01

Image197.jpg

Edited by Jimehc