Light-O-Rama Forums

Transferring some files from one year to another.

Enchanted Springs

Last year, somebody else did this particular light show and now I have inherited it.  I am a newbie.  We want to change most of the songs but there a couple I would like to keep with the same programming.  How do I keep them for this year's show.  I havent figured out a way to copy and paste.  Thanks 

2 hours ago, Enchanted Springs said:

Last year, somebody else did this particular light show and now I have inherited it.  I am a newbie.  We want to change most of the songs but there a couple I would like to keep with the same programming.  How do I keep them for this year's show.  I havent figured out a way to copy and paste.  Thanks 

Did you get the other persons entire computer, controllers and all?

Copy paste is easy if you have the correct and same channel config.

If you have your own lights and configuration (display layout) you will have to figure out which looks best in your display.

You can either draw your house and props or just props in the Animation screen built within S4 - open SE, View, Animation'

Or you can do the same thing in the visualizer, a little more complicated but very useful for new people once they figure out how to use it.

JR

As for JR's questions, one more:  

Did you also inherit the exact display elements that went with those sequences?  If so, then keeping the same sequence and elements won't be a big issue.     Nothing would need to be done, if setting everything up exactly as in the sequence.  Otherwise, changes or a creation of a new sequence will be required.

But doing new songs is a different ballgame entirely.   You just can't take a sequence for one song and copy it into another "different" song{even if it's a different version of the song, it probably won't work.   You'll have to sequence any new or different/different veersion songs completely from scratch as it's doubtful they will work in an existing sequence.