Light-O-Rama Forums

Just some basic questions

Brettlws

I am totally new to this, but I was tasked by my principal to help put together a Christmas light show fundraiser for our middle school. I have ordered the TSO starter package with 2 extra controllers for a total of 48 channels. Right now we have a mix of about 30,000 lights to use, mostly LEDs. We live in the Christmas tree capital of the country or at least the east coast so we have asked for Christmas tree donations from the local tree farms. I am hoping to use the trees as most of our props but I would like to add some other things as well. First I am wondering if there is a certain way that I have to set the controllers up. Do I just hook up 48 channels to 48 different elements and go from there? I also ordered the preprogrammed TSO card with the 13 songs and sequences already programmed in. I was watching the demonstration and the sequences for those songs are using 6 or 8 controllers. I only had enough funds to buy 3, will that work? I would also love to hear some ideas for simple props that can be built and installed quickly. I am hoping to get the students involved in the prop building and set up. Any and all advice will be greatly appreciated.

You can use up to 4 16-channel light controllers with the TSO starter package.  Your 3 controllers should be configured with controller IDs 1, 2, & 3.  I think you can change the controller ID number using the LOR Hardware Utility, but I can't remember for sure.  I specified that I wanted my 3 controllers configured that way when I ordered them.

In regards to hooking up your lights to the 48 channels, on the following webpage read the 2 sections carefully titled Laying out your channels and Here's the easiest way to remember what the different channels do to help you plan your setup.

http://www1.lightorama.com/showtime-central/#TSO