Light-O-Rama Forums

x 10 how to

Gina Burns

Ok, I am not a newbie to LOR but I am to x 10 so please help! I have two snow machines that I want to use in my display this year and I have a x10 to "control" them through LOR but how to connect the x10 to a channel...it is probably an easy answer!:?

Easy answer:

1. If you don't have one already, buy a CM11A. You can find them for under $20 on eBay. The CM11A allows your computer to send X10 signals.
  2. Connecd the CM11A to a serial port on your computer. If you don't have a serial port, then you need to get a USB-to-serial converter. By the way, I heard a rumor that LOR S2 will, in a future update, be able to use the CM15A, which is an updated version of the CM11A that connects using USB.
  3. In the LOR hardware utility, select the "X10 CM11A" tab. Select the serial port that is connected to the CM11A and press "Init Unit". If everything is working correctly, you should get a success message in the box.
  4. Further test it by selecting the house code and unit number, and click "ON". Your snow machine should turn on.
  5. In your sequence, configure a channel as Device Type X10, and select the correct unit number.
  6. You should now be able to turn the snow machine on and off in a sequence. Realize that it can take a couple of seconds between the time the sequence turns an X10 channel on and the time it actually gets turned on.

Edit: Also realize that X10 is not as reliable as the LOR network. If you have your computer plugged into the same circuit as the CM11A or the X10 modules, the noise from the comupter's power supply my prevent the X10 signal from getting through. This can result an an "on" (or "off"!!!) signal from getting through. If it would be really bad for the snow machine to be left on, then you might want to have a backup plan to turn it off. One example would be a separate X10 timer that periodically sends "off" signals. (The CM11A can do this.)