Light-O-Rama Forums

Help with FM transmitters

John Woods

Hello, this is my first year using Light O Rama and I need some advice about FM transmitters. I am looking at the Ramsey units and I was wondering If anyone uses any of these and what the range is for the units. My house is about 300 yards from the road and I wanted to make sure that it would reach the guests. My location is in the country so interfence should not be a problem. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

I tried the FM10C last year and it didn't work too hot. Frequency drifting and low range (worked fine inside the house, but it wouldn't even penetrate well through the window).

I bought a FM25 just in time for the show to turn on last year, it's been fine. I imagine that or anything above to your budget's desire should do just fine.

I use a FM Experts 110 mw transmitter. It will hit 300 yards + some with an antenna. It has a very clear signal and I like it more than my Ramsey 100B

You can find them on ebay http://stores.ebay.com/Mr-JRs-Goodie-Box

There is a healthy discussion of FM transmitters over on PC here
http://forums.planetchristmas.com/showthread.php?p=258353#post258353

All the good units that would transmit that far are pretty much off the market now unless you get the Hobby Kits. All the ones I know about will only transmit about 100yds max at that.

You might have to mount it closer to the road and run a looooong cable to your computer.

That is a great model, I want that one as well. Good luck trying to get one though. That model is not legal for use in the United States and I hear a lot of places won't ship to U.S. addresses. Hobbytron got busted for selling assembled kits last year in the U.S.

Hey Guys, I bought the FM100B a few months ago and put it together in about 8 hours total. It works flawlessly. The 100B is not illegal to sell, the high powered kits are and are only available for export. (100BEX or 100BWT)